• The Right Honourable Adrienne Clarkson, PC, CC, CMM, COM, CD

    The Right Honourable Adrienne Clarkson, PC, CC, CMM, COM, CD, was Canada’s 26th Governor General from 1999-2005. She is the bestselling author of Heart Matters: A Memoir, Room for All of Us: Surprising Stories of Loss and Transformation, and a biography of Dr. Norman Bethune for the Extraordinary Canadians series. In 2014, she delivered the CBC Massey Lectures, published as Belonging: The Paradox of Citizenship. In her multi-faceted career as an accomplished broadcaster and distinguished public servant, she has received numerous prestigious awards and honorary degrees in Canada and abroad. Upon leaving the office of Governor General in 2005, Madame Clarkson co-founded the Institute for Canadian Citizenship, which seeks to accelerate the acculturation of new citizens into Canadian life so they can participate fully and add their important voice to our pluralistic society. In 2007, she became Colonel-in-Chief of the Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry. Since its inception in 2007, she has been the Chair of the Executive Committee and a member of the Board of Directors at the Global Centre for Pluralism. In 2009, she established the Clarkson Cup, the championship trophy for Women’s Hockey. A Privy Councillor and Companion of the Order of Canada, Madame Clarkson lives in Toronto.

  • The Honourable Lloyd Axworthy

    The Honourable Lloyd Axworthy is a Canadian politician, statesman and academic. During his political career that spanned 27 years, Dr. Axworthy held several Cabinet positions, notably Minister Responsible for the Status of Women, Minister of Human Resources Development, and Minister of Foreign Affairs from 1996-2000. In the Foreign Affairs portfolio, Dr. Axworthy became internationally known for his advancement of the human security concept, in particular, the Ottawa Treaty - a landmark global treaty banning anti-personnel landmines. For his leadership on landmines, he was nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize. Following his retirement from parliament, he served as President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Winnipeg from 2004 to 2014 and as Chancellor of St. Paul's University College. Dr. Axworthy is also Chair of the Advisory Committee for the Americas Division of Human Rights Watch and serves on the advisory council of USC Center on Public Diplomacy and of Fair Vote Canada.

  • The Honourary Patrick Reid, O.C.

    It is with great sadness that we inform you of the passing of Patrick Reid, Honourary Patron of Seva Canada. We are grateful for all of his support of Seva Canada over the years.

    Patrick Reid was an Officer of the Order of Canada (1987), and held the Military Cross (1945), the Canadian Decoration (1961), Centennial and Confederation medals (1967 and 1992) and Jubilee Medal (2002). In 1986 he received the first annual Distinguished Leadership Award of Simon Fraser University and the Downtown Vancouver Association Award. He was named Outstanding Citizen of the Year by the Kiwanis Foundation of Canada in 1989. In 2000, he received the Community Service Leader Award of the Vancouver Junior Chamber of Commerce and the William Van Horne Visionary Award of Tourism Vancouver. He served as the first Honourary Captain of the Canadian Navy on the West Coast from 1992 to 1996. He has long been involved with community associations, including: Vice Chair, Man-In-Motion Society; Vancouver Symphony Society; Presidents Club; Simon Fraser University Commonwealth Society; Council of Patrons; UNICEF- BC.

  • Leonard Cohen, C.C.

    Leonard Cohen was a Canadian singer, songwriter, musician, poet, and novelist. His work explored religion, politics, isolation, and personal relationships. Cohen published his first book of poetry in Montreal in 1956 and his first novel in 1963. Meanwhile, his recording career spaned 40 years, commencing with the 1967 release of his debut album, Songs of Leonard Cohen. Since that time, over 2,000 renditions of Cohen’s songs have been recorded.

    Cohen was inducted into both the Canadian Music Hall of Fame and the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame and was also a Companion of the Order of Canada, the nation’s highest civilian honour. In 2011, Cohen received a Princess of Asturias Award for literature.

  • The Honourable Judith Guichon, OBC Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia

    The Honourable Judith Guichon was sworn-in as the 29th Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia on November 2, 2012. Prior to this appointment she owned and operated Gerard Guichon Ranch Limited in the Nicola Valley in the British Columbia Interior. Her Honour has been involved in several organizations. She served on the local hospital board and Community Health Council and was on the Community Health Foundation board. Prior to this, she served as a 4-H Leader and started a recycling society in Merritt, B.C. with neighbours. She also served as a Director for the Fraser Basin Council of B.C., Director of the Grasslands Conservation Council of B.C., member of the Nicola Water Use Management planning committee and played the flute in the Nicola Valley Community Band. Prior to her term as Lieutenant Governor, Her Honour served on the Provincial Task Force on Species at Risk and completed a two-year term as the President of the British Columbia Cattlemen's Association.